Friday, September 9, 2022

Wall of Honor to be unveiled

 The SUNY Brockport men's hockey team will unveil its new Wall of Honor during the Homecoming Weekend on October 8 at 5:15 p.m. in the Wegmans Ice Arena on Campus. 
The Wall of Honor unveiling will be part of an exciting weekend for Brockport Hockey. Brockport hockey great Brian Cavanaugh '76 will be inducted into the Brockport Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday night. On Saturday, Hockey Alumni and Friends will host an Open Skate starting at 4pm, followed by the Hockey Wall of Honor unveiling.  Following the unveiling, Brockport will host a hockey alumni & friends Happy Hour. 

Oct. 8th, 2022
4-5 pm • Hockey Alumni & Friends Open Skate
5:15 pm • Hockey Wall of Honor Unveiling
6 pm • Hockey Alumni & Friends Happy Hour

Those interested in attending can register at:

The SUNY Brockport Ice Hockey Wall of Honor honors former Golden Eagle student-athletes, coaches, teams and special contributors whose accomplishments have brought prestige and honor to the Ice Hockey Program.  All nominees to the Wall of Honor must be outstanding individuals with fine leadership qualities and must be held in high esteem by their colleagues, coaches, and athletes.

Must have been a SUNY Brockport student-athlete for two years
• Athletes are not eligible for nomination until five years after their final season of competition. Must uphold the ideals and philosophies of Brockport Athletics while striving to serve the best interest of intercollegiate athletics.  While winning championships might be a factor, the primary concern is a person's effect upon the student-athletes and fellow coaches he/she has influenced.

• The individual must possess such qualities as sportsmanship, character, and integrity.

The first 25 names on the Wall of Honor will include:

  1. Brian Cavanaugh 1971-75
  2. Bob Pedersen 1965-70, 1971-77, 1984-89
  3. EJ McGuire 1977-82
  4. Don Kwak 1959-1963
  5. Jim McLean 1965-1969
  6. Richie Keefer 1966-1970
  7. Jim Freislich 1967-1971
  8. Dave Scheer 1967-1971
  9. Bob Bush 1969-1973
  10. Frank Russo 1967-1971
  11. Andy Laing  1963-1967
  12. Graeme Low  1971-1975
  13. Mark Cavanaugh 1969-1973
  14. Bobby Garrison 1996-2000
  15. Chris Palin 1986-1990
  16. Paul Pedersen 1985-1989
  17. Chase Nieuwendyk 2012-2016
  18. John Harrington 1978-1982
  19. Sean McCrossan 1973-1977
  20. Bill Reichard 1990-1994
  21. Mike Tefft 1997-2001
  22. David Insalaco 1996-2000
  23. James Cody 2008-2012
  24. Todd Sheridan  2006-2011
  25. Jay Thompson 1996-2000

Tuesday, September 6, 2022

Brockport Hockey reunion

Homecoming Weekend is October 7-8, and among the events will be a Brockport Ice Hockey Reunion and Celebration. A few of the highlights:

Friday, 10/7
• 6pm - Hall of Fame induction of ice hockey alum, Brian Cavanaugh '76

Saturday, 10/8
• 4-5 pm - Ice Hockey alumni, family, friends Open Skate
• 5:15 pm - Ice Hockey Wall of Honor Unveiling and Locker Room Ribbon Cutting
• 6 pm - Ice Hockey alumni, family, friends Happy Hour

Click on the link below for more information and to register for Homecoming Weekend.

A new name, a new locker room, and new honors

SUNY Brockport’s ice rink is now known as the Wegmans Ice Arena, following a major gift made by Wegmans Food Markets. The ice arena will undergo branding transformations to reflect the name change. The gift is slated to support the men’s ice hockey program, the facility, and students.

A generous gift from Confer Plastics helped plans of a renovated locker room glide past the goal line. The updated club room will include new lockers, locker naming plates, and a new floor.

Golden Eagle hockey legends will be honored going forward with a Wall of Honor in Wegmans Ice Arena. It will be unveiled during Homecoming and Family Weekend on Saturday, October 8 at 5:15 p.m.