Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Dickinson now holds Brockport wins record

It was an exciting year for head coaches at The College at Brockport, with four different Golden Eagles becoming the all-time wins leaders in their respective sports. Steven Wagner from women's lacrosse, Greg Dunne from men's basketball, Brian Dickinson from ice hockey, and Justin Beach from baseball all eclipsed the wins record in their respective sports, and are still making strides to further that gap.

Wagner previously broke Traci Lian's record of 62 wins back in the second round of the NCAA tournament in the Spring of 2017. With the 17-7 win over Denison University, he notched his 63rd win as head coach for the Green and Gold. After a successful 2018 season, Wagner, continues to grow his record of 72 total wins.

"All of my success goes to the players," Wagner stated. "We had some very talented athletes come through the program who bought-in to the family and culture we created. Without that, I would not be as successful as I am."

Head coach Dunne from men's basketball was the next to break the wins mark for his program, after he surpassed Curtis Gaylord with 181 wins on January 9, 2018. After his 10th season at the helm with the Golden Eagles he posted a 190-114 record.

Dickinson from ice hockey was the third coach this past year to surpass the all-time wins record, as he did on February 2, 2018 in the 4-0 win over Morrisville State. With that win, he reached 180 wins which passed Bob Pederson previous mark of 179 wins. Coach Dickinson now tops the program with wins of 181, and looks to keep his winning ways going.

The last coach to join the all-wins list is head baseball coach, Beach, as he placed his stamp in the record book after the 4-1 win over Oswego State to give him his 254th win. He previously broke Mark Rowland's record of 253 wins after his 11-year stint, and now finished his 2018 season with 260 wins.

"It is such a great honor to become the all-time wins leader here at Brockport, my alma mater", Beach noted. "The credit goes to all the hard-working players, assistant coaches and administration over the past 12 years. We are very lucky to have a place that is so supportive from top to bottom. I am excited to see what the next 12 years bring."

All four of these coaches are an instrumental part to the success for these programs and they have created a foundation for future coaches and student-athletes to keep the winning tradition going.