Tuesday, February 21, 2012


Seniors James Cody (Schwenksville, PA) and Ian Finnerty (Ardmore, PA) and junior Mike Hayward (Toronto, ONT) of The College at Brockport Men's Hockey team have been named to the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) All-Conference team.

Cody has been named to the first-team All-SUNYAC after being named to the third team last season. Cody becomes the first Brockport player to earn first-team honors since goalie Todd Sheridan was named to the first-team in 2009-2010. Cody also becomes the first player to earn all-conference honors in two consecutive seasons since Sheridan accomplished the feat in 2008-2009 and 2009-2010. During the 2011-2012 season, Cody eclipsed the 100 point mark for his career. The forward finished his Brockport career with 116 career points (60 goals, 56 assists) and led the Golden Eagles in scoring in three of his four years and goals all four years. Cody finished the 2011-2012 season with 34 points (19 goals, 15 assists), good enough for fourth place in the SUNYAC this season while his 19 goals led the league.

Finnerty has been named to the second-team All-SUNYAC. Finnerty earned his first All-SUNYAC selection after leading Brockport in scoring in 2011-2012 with 36 points. The 36 points were the third-most in the league this season. The senior scored 11 goals, including two game winners, and had 25 assists, which were second-most in the conference. Finnerty finished his Brockport career with 87 points (26 goals, 61 assists).

Hayward has also been selected as a second-team All-SUNYAC member. It is the first time Hayward has received a postseason accolade from the conference. Hayward tied for first place in the SUNYAC for goals by a defender with six and finished the season with 14 points. The six goals are also a career-high in a season. Hayward is the first Brockport defensive player to be named all-conference since the 2008-2009 when Mike Gershon was named to the second team.

It is the first time in Brockport school history that three players have earned all-conference selections. The last time Brockport had more than one player on any of the all-conference teams was in 2004-2005 when Mark Digby and Ian MacLean both earned third-team honors.