Sunday, April 22, 2012


Last night I had the privilege to attend the Golden Eagles' annual banquet in which the team celebrated the season that was and the careers that were for one of the most-accomplished and deepest senior classes in school history.

The seniors recognized -- and granted the much-revered captain's chairs -- were: Gregg Amato, James Cody, Ian Finnerty, Brett Jendra, Adam Shoff, and Oliver Wren. Also recognized as a senior was junior/senior Nick Panepinto, who will be graduating after only 3 years (a huge accomplishment).

As always, their speeches were's a sad moment to see them bring closure to storied college careers but, at the same time, it's a great moment for them as they will be going on to do great things personally and professionally. 

The past season's captain -- Mr. Shoff -- passed the baton to next season's captain, Mike Hayward, who had been an alternate captain in 2011-2012.

The coaching staff also dispensed a handful of coveted awards:

Outstanding Scholar Athlete: Brett Jendra, whose GPA going into this semester was a stellar 3.77

Chris Palin Rookie of the Year: Troy Polino, who sported an impressive 5-11-16 line

Jimmy Mac Most Improved Player Award: Sophomore defenseman Ian Chapman, who really stepped up his game

EJ McGuire 7th Player Award: Ian Finnerty, the playmaker who who finished his career with 87 points in 88 games played

Bob Pederson Coaches Award: Captain Adam Shoff, who exuded incredible leadership on and off the ice

Brian Cavanaugh MVP Award: James Cody, whose closing campaign saw him earn SUNYAC Player of the Year and All-American honors